To My Unborn Son

I will embarrass you with how over the top I will love you. I will be the most extra over the top dad in the neighborhood. I will make it to every extracurricular activity you do whether its baseball like me or you are the captain of the debate team, I will never miss it. I do not care what Is going on in my life I will be there. Doesn’t matter the time, weather, or place my ass will be there. I will hold you anytime you are down, pat you on the back when you do well and give you advice when you mess up.

 

I will be hard on you. You will hate me at times, and argue with me over how hard I am. I want you to be better than I ever was or could think to be. As a father, I will not be perfect, there will be things that you will say I could have done or things I couldn’t give you because of my imperfections but I will tell you the same thing I was told, whatever you feel I didn’t give you give to your son as I do you.

You will never have to worry about a night wondering where is Daddy is…

I will be there holding you until you are too old and too cool for it. Kissing you on your forehead every time you make me proud. Whenever there is bad news to be told I will always be the one to tell you.

Until my final breath I will protect, and guide you through this cold world. Even when I am no longer with you physically I will forever protect you with my spirit.

I will do this because I know what it feels like to wonder if you Dad loves you, wonder if you will ever see him…wonder why he left, wonder if he left because of you…blaming yourself for something you can’t control.

I will control that for you in that you will never have to feel any of the emotions I had because

I will be there. I love you and can’t wait to see you

Leave a comment